Canterbury Earthquakes Royal Commission Te Komihana Rūwhenua o Waitaha Canterbury Earthquakes Royal Commission – Te Komihana Rūwhenua o Waitaha

Those who lost relatives and friends in the 22 February earthquake can be assured that there will be a very thorough inquiry into the failure of buildings that resulted in loss of life.
Chair, Justice Mark Cooper

About the Royal Commission

In response to the Canterbury earthquakes on 14 March 2011 Cabinet agreed to establish a Royal Commission to inquire into the Canterbury Earthquakes chaired by Justice Mark Cooper, a sitting High Court judge.

By 13 April 2011 two other Commissioners, eminent engineers Sir Ron Carter and Professor Richard Fenwick, were appointed. The terms of reference were also finalised.

On 4 May 2011 the Commissioners met for the first time in Christchurch. A secretariat of staff has also been established to assist the Commissioners. The Department of Internal Affairs provides further administrative support.

The purpose of the Commission is to examine issues around the built environment in the Christchurch central business district including, but not limited to, the Canterbury Television (CTV), Pyne Gould Corporation (PGC), Forsyth Barr and Hotel Grand Chancellor buildings. We are also required to inquire into the adequacy of the relevant building codes and standards into the future.

The Commission must take into account, but not be limited by, a technical investigation undertaken by the Department of Building and Housing.

In February 2012 the terms of reference were modified to enable a later final reporting date.

In March 2012 Justice Cooper confirmed the jurisdiction of the Commission in response to an application from Srecko (Alec) Cvetanov